chiantidrivers-tuscasny-italy_018The National Park of the Cinque Terre has been declared a World Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO since 1997. The area consists of five villages: Riomaggiore, Cornaglia, Manarola, Vernazza and Monterosso. Situated between the sea and mountains, sheltering them from cold winds, theese villages give you the possibility to walk along beautiful paths, make excursions by boat and enjoy good food and wines. A naturalistic heritage of great variety with terracing cultivated with vineyards and olive trees. Monterosso is the largest village of the Cinque Terre. Consisting of two districts, the old village and Fegina, the more touristy part, it also boasts important monuments. Vernazza, considered by many to be the most charming of the Cinque Terre, is characterized by the presence of architectural elements of great importance like lodges, churches, tower houses and arcades. The village is dominated by the remains of the “castrum”, a series of Medieval forts dating back to the XI century. Corniglia, rising on top of a rock promotory, is the only village of the Cinque Terre not in contact with the sea. The villagers’ traditional jobs has always been more inclined towards the land than towards the sea. Manarola is a town planning jewel, rich as it is in typical tower houses of Genovese style. Founded during the XII century, the village probably derives its name from an antique “magna roea”, a large mill-wheel present in the village. We have the first news of Riomaggiore only in 1251. It boasts monuments of great interest, such as the Castello which dominates the historical centre.

Questo post è disponibile anche in: Italian